Social Whisper

The Fear

Posted on: November 22, 2008

This weekend I have decided to behave myself, mainly due to actually having no money which rules out a lot of options but that after a few too many glasses of vino at lunch yesterday I decided that to try and redeem my conscience by spending the weekend sorting my life out.

I was catching up on some of my reading and found this post on The Bad Pitch Blog which I must have missed when it was first published that nearly made me want to go running back to the world of PPC to spend the rest of my life buried in an excel spreadsheet. The post is about Carol Blymire who runs the ‘French Laundry at Home‘ blog and how she deals with bad blogger outreach by responding to the emails while also cc’ing in the emailers boss and their clients.

Firstly I can completely understand why she must be utterly fed up receiving millions of untargeted emails and pitches, and I know it is nothing new to make examples of people who get blogger outreach wrong but this seemed quite extreme.

I always worry at the best of times when running an outreach campaign for our clients that we might accidentally upset someone – especially if they then feel the need to share it with their readers and friends. Don’t get me wrong I love what I do but even outside of work I hate upsetting people and spend hours afterwards thinking about it and going over the situation again and again.

I don’t believe that any of our campaigns would ever cause that level of upset as we do a lot of research when targeting bloggers. While I try to gauge the best way to approach each blog depending on the tone of the blog etc and may not always get it spot on, what we are speaking to them about should always be relevant to them.

I’m sure that as I continue in this role the ‘Fear’ will diminish and that when I receive emails back from bloggers I wont have a stomach churning fear that they are emailing me back to suggest that I should start looking for a new career. Until then I will always be grateful for the blogs that give advice on how to avoid these situations.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
