Social Whisper

I’ve Been Bad, I’m Sorry…

Posted on: June 18, 2009

You may have clicked on this post expecting some sordid details from the last two weeks as to why I haven’t updated my blog but unfortunately it’s just that I have been crazy busy so I’m sorry! Details of antics that ‘allegedly’ may or may not have occurred during this time stay within a small group of friends and any witnesses have been taken down – only joking!

Being back in the UK has been probably more of a culture shock than being in Asia, with my housemate frequently having to save me from being run over, as unlike in Vietnam the cars here dont go round you, they just hit you.

Getting used to the temperature has also been interesting (13 degrees!) as I have gone from over compensating on the number of items I wear so not only do I look twice as big but generally end up feeling hotter than I did when in Asia, to then being completely blaise and regretting it later when I start to get frost bite.

Although I didn’t intend this to be a personal blog about what I get up to on a daily basis, and since you have had to put up with the random posts about my travels for the last three months I thought I’d do just one more before I get back to the mildly intelligent stuff that I used to post about.

So in a nutshell these last two weeks being back I have; dressed as Shera for my housemates 30th, become a lady that lunches (until I checked my bank balance), caught up with friends, gone north of the M4 for the first time in my life and I suppose most importantly (especially for my bank balance) got a new job as a Social Media Account Manager.

hayles 30th

Since being back I thought I would also compile a short list of tips etc that I learnt a long the way for any one thinking of going away, so here we go:

  • Dont wear a boob tube while travelling to and from places, however comfy it is (you’ll wake up with it round your waist and flashing your boobs – not a good look, although you will make friends quickly
  • Know the local exchange rate – should be obvious one, but guessing what you think it is isn’t the best way
  • Always agree money/ costs before doing anything – nothing is free and it may turn ugly later
  • Be Flexible
  • Roll not fold your clothes as you can get more in your bag that way
  • Just accept that you will never get any sleep on a night bus
  • Tie die or speedo’s never look good
  • Try everything
  • Timings for anything are never guaranteed and will probably take longer than they are meant to
  • When using public transport write down where you want to go – its hilarious looking back on it but not so much at the time when you’re dropped of some where completely random with the insistence that this is where you asked to go.
  • Lastly and probably the best one of all is SMILE! It will change your whole trip and always makes everything better
Leave a Reply

Twitter

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
